Placing the entire blame on the deluge of cat and food videos on my Facebook timeline, I headed off to her profile. To my utter dismay, I found out that I have been unfriended by her. With Whys and Whens buzzing in my mind, I scoured the Internet for a simple solution, which would instantly notify me if someone unfriended me on Facebook. Of course, finding the solution wasn’t easy and I had to dig around a bit. To my delight, I found quite a few Google Chrome extensions that let me see who has removed me from their friends’ list. Some of them also tell you when someone befriends you but let’s leave that part to Facebook since it does that part pretty well.

How to Check If Someone Unfriended You on Facebook

The extension, which came to my rescue, was Unfriend Finder. Though it needs a bit of finesse, it did what it promised in its description.

1. Sweet and Simple: Unfriend Finder

Get this super cool extension on your browser from Chrome Store. After you add it, the little icon on the top will turn red if any of your Facebook buddies unfriend you and green if you receive a friend request. To make matters quick, Unfriend Finder also notifies you through a small window just in case you’re too busy to look at the status bar. If you’d like to dig deeper to see, all it takes is a click on the Go to Application, which would show you all the details. The only downside to this extension is that the page requires your Ad-blocker (if you have one) to be revoked for that page. Besides, Unfriend Finder will also inform you if one of your buddies deactivates his or her account.

2. A Little More: F.B. (FluffBusting) Purity

F.B. (FluffBusting) Purity has been in use since 2009. Though its primary objective is to make your Facebook browsing experience as clean as possible by blocking out contents that you deem irrelevant, a small part of its task is also to show the list of friends who have unfriended you. If I were to compare these two apps, I’d say F.B. Purity is a bit better as it lets you see the deleted list on Facebook’s homepage itself — without the need for you to go to a separate page. However, F.B. Purity wouldn’t display the deleted friends alert instantly. It might take somewhere around a couple of minutes to half an hour for it to display the alert, which if you ask me is a fair deal.

Additional Features

As I said earlier, F.B. Purity is more than just a tool to see unfriended notifications. You can also tune your Facebook settings to block apps and game stories or the annoying People You May Know block. Plus, you can filter out specific phrases and words from your timeline through the built-in Text Filter. What I liked about this extension was the fact that it does its job smoothly without shouting at your face at all.

Not a Secret Anymore

So now, you know how to see who unfriended you on Facebook. Though the road to see the list isn’t straight, Chrome extensions, like the ones above, make it easy enough. So, which one of these will you try out first? Do drop us a line or two in the comments below.

Here s How You Can See Who Unfriended You on Facebook  - 37Here s How You Can See Who Unfriended You on Facebook  - 35Here s How You Can See Who Unfriended You on Facebook  - 57Here s How You Can See Who Unfriended You on Facebook  - 78Here s How You Can See Who Unfriended You on Facebook  - 31Here s How You Can See Who Unfriended You on Facebook  - 25